Facebook is the most popular social media platform in the world. More than one billion users from every part of the world are active on this platform. However, there are situations when users want to delete their accounts. Of course, there are many different reasons why someone would want to do this, but the main question they have is “How to delete Facebook account?”
1. Log in to your Facebook account
Obviously, it is impossible to delete Facebook account in case you are not logged in. If this was not the case, many hackers, and other people might delete other people’s accounts. So, the first step to delete your Facebook account starts with logging. There are people who can’t remember their password and in cases like this, it is the best idea to click the Can’t log in button and follow the instructions provided by Facebook. You should be able to retrieve the password and log in to Facebook.
2. Saving data
Prior to the deletion, it is also a smart idea to check the information stored on your profile. You should save important information like photos, contact info, links, messages and other things that you might need in the future. Remember that once you delete your Facebook profile, you won’t be able to access this information. If you have a lot of data, you can use the Download a copy of your Facebook data link found in the Settings menu.
3. Remove Facebook history if needed
Before you continue, you should know that you can eliminate some or all of the activities you’ve made on Facebook. This includes comments on other people’s profiles and comments and likes on pages. You can enter the Activity Log link in the See More Setting tab to delete your activities. Don’t forget that your personal messages can’t be deleted if the receiver doesn’t delete them too.
4. Check the Delete Account tab
This tab lets you delete your Facebook account for good. This important page can’t be accessed right away. You will need to look for it with the help of search engines.
5. Log in again and finish the CAPTCHA
Once you locate the link that leads to this page/tab, you will notice a smaller pop=up window that will once again request your username and password and below that you will need to complete a CAPTCHA image. After that, just click Okay and the process will start.
6. Wait for two weeks
When the process is completed, you will notice that the account is deactivated. People will no longer have the chance to find your profile. Once 14 days pass, your account will be deleted for good. If you want to stop this process before the time ends, you can log in to your account and restore it.
NOTE: Keep in mind that you can’t delete personal messages. They will still exist in your friends’ inbox, but your name will appear grayed and they won’t be able to look for your messages through the search option, they will have to do this manually.
This is how to delete Facebook account
Any questions or requests?